Published On:
By Staff Reporter : PNG Today

PNG Hunters make changes for round 17 match against Tweed Heads Seagulls

The Papua New Guinea SP Hunters have made several changes for the round 17 match against Tweed Heads Seagulls in Brisbane. Kumul forward Timothy Lomai has been recalled into the squad while winger Justin Olam moves to the center  to replace injured co-captain Noel Zeming.

Lomai, who was out for four weeks with a thumb injury returns to the pack bolstering it with size and quality. The 24-year-old will start at lock for the game at Piggabeen Sports Oval, Tweed Heads.

Zeming, who braved playing last Sunday against Norths Devils, had been carrying the injury for over a month playing through pain and discomfort.

The Hunters have also lost Stargroth Amean for an extended period with the fullback twisting a knee at Bishop Park in Brisbane last round – he will be out for four weeks.
Winger William Aquila gets a chance to add to his three games in the Q-Cup with his last outing in Round 8 against the Burleigh Bears on the Gold Coast.
Back-rower Brandy Peter returns to the side on the bench after missing the Devils match for personal reasons. Rugby convert Butler Morris and livewire utility Gahuna Silas have been included the bench.
Marum said in Zeming’s absence Adam Korave would lead the side with five-eighth Ase Boas taking the goal-kicking duties.
“With Noel and Star out it is a major blow for us but we’ve got the players who can come in and do the job,” Marum said. “It also gives them a chance to impress us.”
In other team news, Philemon Kimisive and Nickson Borona are still recovering from knee injuries.
Borana’s run of luck with injuries has not been good with the back-rower going down minutes into his return in Round 15.
Marum stressed that the side would likely going through some changes and adjustments after medical and fitness tests today.
The team travels to Tweed Heads via Brisbane on Friday.
Hunters: 1. Bland Abavu 2. William Aquila 3. Justin Olam 4. Thompson Teteh 5. Adex Wera 6. Ase Boas 7. Watson Boas 8. Enock Maki 9. Wartovo Puara Jr 10. Esau Siune 11. Edward Goma 12. Adam Korave 13. Timothy Lomai 14. Warren Glare 15. Atte Bina Wabo 16. Brandy Peter 17. Butler Morris 18. Silas Gahuna 19. Benjamin Hetra.

Posted by Staff Reporter : PNG Today on 3:16 AM. Filed under , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Share this Article


PNG eHow

Subscribe to Daily News

Enter your email address:

Delivered by PNG Today

© 2017 PNG Today . Powered by Blogger.