Published On:
By Staff Reporter : PNG Today

PNG Hunters name unchanged side for round 14 match against Magpies

The SP Hunters have named an unchanged side to take on South Logan Magpies in this Saturday’s round 14 of the Queensland Intrust Super Cup game at the National Football Stadium, in Port Moresby. 

This match will  see Thompson Teteh  play his 50th Intrust Super Cup match. Teteh now becomes the fifth player behind Wartovo Puara Jnr (60th), Adex Wera (53rd), Noel Zeming (52nd), and Esau Siune (51st) on game appearance. 

“Thompson has been with the Hunters since 2014 and I congratulate him on achieving this milestone,”said coach Michael Marum Marum said last week’s team played well with the slotting of Bland Abavu at fullback to cover for regular Stargroth Amean and Philemon Kimisive returning to the frey with a big game on the wing as well. “Both players played really well,” said Marum. He said that they will be working on improving Abavu’s positional play and set-plays for him in training to make use of his height and weight advantage. When asked about any injuries in the team, coach Marum said Amean is still out after failing tests this week, but will still undergo a brain scan again this week to see how well he recovers.

 He said Adam Korave, Tuvi Lepan and Esau Siune will also undergo final medical checkups. Versatile back Adex Wera still has another week to serve on his two weeks suspension, he added. Teteh when asked about his 50th game said he is very excited to play on home soil and will give his best. “Playing for the Hunters is a great achievement for me because it allows local talents like me to be exposed to the international arena,” he said. 

The Hunters team: Bland Abavu (full-back), Justin Olam (wing), Noel Zeming (left-centre) Thompson Teteh (right-centre), Philemon Kimisive (wing), Ase Boas (half-back), Watson Boas (five-eighth), Henry Wan (prop), Wartovo Puara Jnr (hooker) Esau Siune (prop), Ismael Balkawa (second-row) Adam Korave (second-row) Brandy Peter (lock). Inter-change bench: Warren Glare, Benjamin Hetra, Enoch Maki, Tuvi Lepan, Nixon Borana, Atte Bina Wabo, (two to be omitted). The match with the Magpies will be at 6:30pm at the National Football Stadium on Saturday.

Posted by Staff Reporter : PNG Today on 5:07 PM. Filed under , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Share this Article


PNG eHow

Subscribe to Daily News

Enter your email address:

Delivered by PNG Today

© 2017 PNG Today . Powered by Blogger.