Published On:
By Staff Reporter : PNG Today

Women’s World Cup Pacific Qualifying Series begins

The final country to qualify for next year’s Women’s Rugby League World Cup will be determined tomorrow, Saturday 15 October, as four teams battle it out in the Pacific Qualifying Series at St Marys Rugby League Stadium (Sydney, Australia).

The Cook Islands, Fiji, Tonga and Samoa will all compete, with the winner progressing through to next year’s Women’s Rugby League World Cup.

Development Manager  of the Rugby League International Federation Asia Pacific Confederation Tas Baitieri, said Saturday’s Pacific Qualifying Series adds to the excitement surrounding next year’s historic Women’s Rugby League World Cup.

“As with their male counterparts, rugby league continues to experience strong growth in the number of females playing rugby league throughout Pacific Nations.

“With a place in next year’s historic Women’s Rugby League World Cup on the line, all four competing teams will leave nothing in the tank in their pursuit for qualification.

“The Asia Pacific Rugby League Confederation would like to thank St Marys Rugby League Club for hosting this Saturday’s Qualifying Series and would engage all fans to get along to enjoy a feast of rugby league,” concluded Baitieri.

On 16 October 2016, the Rugby League World Cup 2017 Organising Committee with the support of the NSW Government, confirmed that for the first time in the sport’s history the Women’s Rugby League World Cup would be held concurrently with the men’s tournament.

Previously the Women’s Rugby League World Cup was part of the user-pays Festival of World Cups that featured tournaments for Women, Defence, Police, Wheelchair and Universities.

Six teams will participate in the Women’s Rugby League World Cup 2017 – Australia, New Zealand, England, Papua New Guinea, Canada plus the Pacific Qualifier – with the pool and semi-finals to be played at Southern Cross Group Stadium in Cronulla (Sydney) and the final to be contested as a double-header with the men’s final in Brisbane on 2 December 2017.

In addition to the women’s qualifying series, there will be three junior exhibition games featuring Samoa and Maori under 16 boys, under 16 girls and under 18 boys. These games will be played before and between the women’s games, creating a full day of rugby league action.

Posted by Staff Reporter : PNG Today on 3:56 AM. Filed under . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Share this Article


PNG eHow

Subscribe to Daily News

Enter your email address:

Delivered by PNG Today

© 2017 PNG Today . Powered by Blogger.