Published On:
By Staff Reporter : PNG Today

PM O’Neill assures Singapore of Papua New Guinea’s support in the International Civil Aviation Organisation Assembly

Papua New Guinea Prime Minister,  Peter O’Neill  has given his Singaporean counterpart, Lee Hsien Loong, his assurance that Papua New Guinea will support Singapore’s bid to become a member of the Part II of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) Assembly Council.

ICAO is a UN Specialized Agency, mandated as the global forum for civil aviation safety, security and navigation regulation.
This request was through a written correspondence by the Singaporean Prime Minister, which was conveyed to Prime Minister O’Neill by the non-resident High Commissioner of Singapore to PNG, H.E. Chaly Mah Chee Keong, today, in Port Moresby.
In response, PM O’Neill accepted Singapore’s request to support it in the upcoming ICAO Assembly.
Although Papua New Guinea and Singapore are ICAO members, Papua New Guinea is a Category III member whilst Singapore is a Category II member.
“The Papua New Guinea government extended similar support to the Singapore Government in 2010 when Singapore sought to become a member of the Part II of the ICAO Council.
“So, I don’t see any reason why we shouldn’t support Singapore,” PM O’Neill said.
He further assured H.E Mah Chee Keong, that a Papua New Guinea Government delegation comprising of relevant stakeholders would be advised to attend and support Singapore in its bid to become a Category III member of the ICAO.
The High Commissioner who, noted that he was impressed with the upgrade international airport facilities and the number of new roads and infrastructure that have been built in a short space of time.
Papua New Guinea and the Republic of Singapore formalized relations on May 19, 1976, at a High Commission level.
The International Aviation Safety Assessment (IASA) ratings cover three categories for countries to signify the status of a CAA's compliance with safety standards. Category II or III apply to countries whose CAAs are found not to be providing safety oversight in compliance with the minimum international standards established by ICAO.
The United States Federal Aviation Autority (FAA) normally places a country in Category II if one of its carriers provided air service to the United States at the time of the FAA assessment.
The FAA places a country in Category III if none of its carriers provided air service to the United States at the time of the FAA assessment. Carriers from Category II countries are permitted to maintain, but not expand, current levels of service under heightened FAA surveillance. Carriers from Category III countries are not permitted to commence service to the United States.
Image: Singapore's Honorary Consul to PNG, Sir Henry Chow, PM O'Neill and H.E. Chaly Mah Chee Keong (seated) with Singapore delegation (standing at back).

Posted by Staff Reporter : PNG Today on 2:15 AM. Filed under , , . You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Share this Article


PNG eHow

Subscribe to Daily News

Enter your email address:

Delivered by PNG Today

© 2017 PNG Today . Powered by Blogger.