Header Ads

10 PNG MPs Resign from Government, Calls on PM Marape to Resign

Ten PNG Government cabinet ministers who are in the Opposition camp in Vanimo have formally submitted their resignation from their respective ministries.

Their joint resignation letter is dated November 13th, 2020 - the day they crossed the floor - but this was only made known yesterday in Vanimo by the Opposition Leader Beldon Namah through a press conference.

They include former Deputy Prime Minister and National Planning Minister, Sam Basil, former Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Trade, Patrick Pruaitch, and former Higher Education Minister, Nick Kuman.

Others include State-Owned Enterprises Minister, Sasindran Muthuvel, former Minister for Justice and Attorney General, Davis Steven, and former Education Minister, Joseph Yopyyopy.

Also, Rigo MP Lekwa Gure resigned as Minister for Labour and Industry, Abau MP Sir Puka Temu resigned as Minister for Health and HIV/AIDS, Dei MP Wesley Nukundj resigned as Minister for Immigration and Border Security, and Sumkar MP Chris Nangoi resigned as Minister for Correctional Service.

They stated in their resignation letters that they have lost confidence in Prime Minister James Marape, but thanked him for giving them the opportunity to serve as Cabinet Ministers over the past 18months.

The majority of the Members of Parliament have lost confidence in Prime Minister James Marape and he must resign. 

Prime Minister Marape had earlier formally announced the decommissioning of the Ministers that have moved to the Opposition.

NBC News / PNG Today

next : PNG High Court Seeks to Stop December 01 Parliament Sitting

No comments

Thank you for visiting this web page. We would like to hear from you, feel free to comment below.

Powered by Blogger.