Header Ads

James Marape re-elected Prime Minister of Papua New Guinea

 The Papua New Guinea Parliament has re-elected Member for Tari - Pori James Marape as the Prime Minister . 

Mr.Marape  got 97 - 0 votes to become the Prime Minister of the 11th PNG Parliament.

Among those that voted were People's National Congress party members, including Pomio MP Elias Kapavore, Central Governor Rufina Peter, Ijivitari MP David Arore and Kandrian Gloucester MP Joseph Lelang. 

PNC Party leader Peter O'Neill walked out of the chamber before the election of Mr. Marape.

After his election, Mr. Marape was rushed to Government House to be sworn in by Governor General Sir Bob Dadae.

He will later return to Parliament to complete proceedings.

Speaker-elect Job Pomat congratulated Mr. Marape for his re-election, which was indicated through the overwhelming support from his colleague MPs.

NBC News  / PNG Today

Next : Manus Open MP Job Pomat elected Speaker of PNG Parliament

No comments

Thank you for visiting this web page. We would like to hear from you, feel free to comment below.

Powered by Blogger.