Header Ads

PNG Government appoints Karl Yalo as Air Niugini's Board Chairman

The Board of Air Niugini Limited has announced the appointment of Director, Karl Yalo as the Company’s new Board Chairman. 

The National Executive Council (NEC) made the appointment on 20th September 2023 after the demise of late Sir Kostas Constantinou. 

Caption: The Air Niugini Board, back row from left; Air Niugini Acting Chief Executive Officer Mr Gary Seddon, Director Mr Prashant Shastri, Chairman Mr Karl Yalo, Director & Deputy Chairman Mr Anthony Seeto and Director Mr Bonny Igime. Seated, from left; Director Dame Monica Salter, Magistrate Seth Tanei and Director Lady Aivu Tauvasa.

Mr Yalo was initially appointed by NEC as Board Director on 04th May 2022 for a term of 3 years. He holds a Law Degree from the University of Papua New Guinea and has a wealth of experience in various sectors including aviation, mining and project management.

His wealth of experience and expertise will help, guide Air Niugini to deliver positive returns, whilst achieving key milestones in accordance with its strategic plan.

Under the same NEC decision was the re-appointments of Lady Aivu Tauvasa and Mr Anthony Seeto, as well as the new appointment of Mr Bonny Igime, as Board Directors.

Mr Igime holds a Master of Arts degree in Mass Communication at Andrews University, Michigan United States and Diploma in Theology from Pacific Adventist University.

He was a former Director of the National Lands Board and Chairman of Motor Vehicle Insurance Limited.

Mr Igime’s appointment is vital in supporting management to drive the airline’s strategic intent.

In addition, Mr Seeto was also appointed as Deputy Chairman. 

All appointments on 20th September 2023 are for a term of 3 years.

During the swearing in of the Chairman and Board Directors last week, Chairman Mr Yalo reiterated that the Board will continue to focus on Air Niugini’s medium to longer-term sustainability through the purchase of a new, next generation aircraft.

“I am satisfied with the role I have played as a Director of the Board and now look forward to providing the highest level of leadership to ensure continuity and stability. The Board will continue to effectively manage expenditure and ensure the successful integration of new aircraft and crew under the re-fleeting program,” he said. 

This significant fleet replacement program will see the acquisition of 13 state of the art aircraft over the next five years, including nine Airbus A220 and two Boeing 787 Dreamliner.

Next : 

PNG-China Trade Figures Surpass K13 Billion

No comments

Thank you for visiting this web page. We would like to hear from you, feel free to comment below.

Powered by Blogger.