Header Ads

PNG to host Oceania Rugby Tournament

Sir Hubert Murray Stadium will host Rugby Oceania cup and women's FIFA world Cup. Photo credit: insidethegames.biz

Papua New Guinea will host another international event again and this time the Rugby Oceania  Cup is scheduled  to be played  in August. This was announced by the Oceania and the PNG Rugby Football Union . Countries including Solomon Islands, Tahiti, and American Samoa are among the four nations to compete alongside Papua New Guinea from the 22nd to the 30th of August at the Sir Hubert Murray Stadium in Konedobu, Port Moresby.

Solomon Islands will take on cup debutants, American Samoa, while Papua New Guinea will face Tahiti on Saturday the 22nd of August. 

Pukpuks coach, Sydney Wesley, has confirmed an extended 32 man squad, which is to be trimmed down and finalised in the weeks leading into the tournament.

Of the 32 men in the squad, five are Brisbane based.

Richard Aitsi, Bradley Kelegai, Zion Reto, Nigel Genia and Rabbie Namaliu Junior will be looking to add their experience from playing premier rugby in Brisbane.

The Kautu brothers, Jacky Marcus, James Lumaris alongside Sevens stars Wesley Vali and Butler Moris will feature in this year’s 15s team, to add a bit of pace out wide.

The Pukpuks will take on Tahiti on Saturday 22nd August, and American Samoa in Game 2 on Wednesday the 26th of August, and Solomon Islands in their final game on Sunday 30th August.

Meanwhile, the 20 000 capacity Sir Hubert Murray stadium is still under construction. The stadium will also host the womens under 20 FIFA World Cup next year. Several of rugby league test matches and Hunters games will be played at the stadium after the it is completed.

Oceania Rugby Cup 2015 tournament schedule

Round 1 - Sat 22 Aug
Solomon Islands v American Samoa, Sir Hubert Murray Stadium, kick-off 13:00
Papua New Guinea v Tahiti, Sir Hubert Murray Stadium, kick-off 15:30

Round 2 - Weds 26 Aug
Tahiti v Solomon Islands,Sir Hubert Murray Stadium, kick-off 13:00
Papua New Guinea v American Samoa,Sir Hubert Murray Stadium, kickoff 15:30

Round 3 - Sun 30 Aug
American Samoa v Tahiti,Sir Hubert Murray Stadium, kick-off 13:00
Papua New Guinea v Solomon Islands,Sir Hubert Murray Stadium, kickoff 15:30

No comments

Thank you for visiting this web page. We would like to hear from you, feel free to comment below.

Powered by Blogger.