Header Ads

Maelanga: We lost confidence in PM Sogavare

The Member of Parliament for East Malaita Manasseh Maelanga says the mass resignation of ministers and backbenchers from the Democratic Coalition for Change Government (DCCG) was prompted by severe lack of confidence in the leadership of the Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare.

Maelanga resigned as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Home Affairs last weekend along with eight other ministers and nine backbenchers.

“I wish to tell the nation that the mass resignation of Cabinet ministers and backbenchers from the government last weekend was solely prompted by severe lack of confidence in the leadership of Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare,” Maelanga conveyed through the Solomon Star.

He said suggestions that he and all other resigned Ministers and backbenchers left the government in fear of the Anti-Corruption Bill (ACB) is totally baseless as they all supported and passed the legislation when it was recently put to Caucus and Cabinet for consideration.

Maelanga said the main reason for their resignation is the leadership style of Prime Minister.

“The Prime Minister seems to be listening to certain ministers and outsiders in his decision-making instead of consulting all Cabinet Ministers and all three Coalition partners in the Democratic Coalition for Change Government.”

Maelanga said all resigned government MPs including will outline their reasons for deserting the DCCG when the motion of no confidence against the Prime Minister is tabled in Parliament next Monday.

The National Parliament Office confirmed that the Speaker of National Parliament Ajilon Nasiu received a motion of no-confidence notice from the Leader of the Independent Group Dr Derek Sikua on Sunday and was put on notice the same day.

A statement from the National Parliament said, “As stated in Section 34 (2) of the constitution, a motion of no confidence shall not be passed in Parliament unless notice of a motion has been given to the speaker at least 7 clear days before it is introduced.”

As such, the statement added, “The motion can be moved on or after 6th November 2017.

The motion of no-confidence was served after the mass resignation of government ministers and backbenchers since last Saturday.

The resigned Ministers are as follows:

1.      Manasseh Maelanga

2.      Danny Philip

3.      Snyder Rini

4.      John Moffat Fugui

5.      Chris Laore

6.      David Tome

7.      Moses Garu

8.      Samson Maneka

9.      Elijah Doromuala

The resigned Backbenchers are as follows:

1.      Sam Idurii

2.      Alfred Ghiro

3.      Jimmy Lusibaea

4.      Namson Tran

5.      Lionel Alex

6.      Charles Sigoto

7.      Martin Kealoe

8.      David Pacha

9.      Dickson Mua

Prime Minister Sogavare entered the Parliament chamber Monday to the resigned Ministers and Backbenchers present seated with the 12 Members of the Opposition and Independent Group.

The Democratic Coalition for Change Government faithfuls that attended Parliament apart from the Prime Minister were:

1.      John Maneniaru- Minister of Finance and Treasury

2.      Milner Tozaka- Minister of Foreign Affairs and External Trade

3.      Festus Stanley Sofu- Minister of Infrastructure Development

4.      Dr Tautai Angikimua Kaitu’u- Minister of Health and Medical Services

5.      Peter Shanel Agovaka- Minister of Aviation and Communication

6.      Dudley Kopu- Minister of Agriculture and Livestock

7.      Bradley Tovosia- Minister of Mines and Energy

8.      Andrew Manepora- Minister of Land, Housing and Survey

9.      William Bradford Marau- Minister of Commerce, Industries, Employment and Immigration

10.   Freda Tuki- Minister of Women, Youth, Children and Family Affairs

11.   Jimson Tanangada- Minister of Rural Development

12.   Jackson Fiulaua- Chairman Government Caucus

13.   Ishmael Avui

14.   Augustine Auga

15.   Nestor Ghiro

The only government MP absent from Parliament was the MP for Temotu- Nende Commins Mewa....

Powered by Blogger.